Community Forums

Home » Vuze Forums » Community Open Support

Thread: BT Home Hub & Vuze

Thread Locked This thread is locked - replies are not allowed.

This question is not answered. Helpful answers available: 3. Correct answers available: 1.

Search Forum Search Forum Back to Thread List Back to Thread List

Permlink Replies: 7 - Pages: 1 - Last Post: Apr 23, 2011 2:28 PM Last Post By: porkcake
tommypepper

BT Home Hub & Vuze
Posted: Feb 14, 2009 8:11 AM

Click to report abuse...
Hi everyone

I'm fairly new to all this, and have read the forums for a while, but wanted to post in the hope someone would be kind enough to offer a bit of advice as the info on the forums gets a bit overwhelming! I've been reading for days but not really getting anywhere so I thought I'd ask here.

I've got a BT Home Hub with an 8 meg bandwith - I'm wired into it with ethernet cables, running a fairly highish spec XP PC, and when I do online speed tests my average connection is - 6000kb/s download and 360 kb/s upload -

• using the internet is fast, playing online is great, all that kind of thing, so I'm not worried about my internet speed, but I don't think I'm getting very good Vuze speeds. With a variety of torrents, some well-seeded, some not so, I seem to average out at 20 kB/s

I've run all the tests and spent ages reading about set-ups and stuff, but I'm not very good with computers, maths, that kind of thing, and I can't help thinking I'm doing something wrong. I've set up Port Forwarding okay, and all my NAT/Firewall tests are good, but what settings should I apply to Vuze, in regards to Upload/Download speeds? I've got green smiley faces too.

The highest download I remember getting was about 100 kB/s, which I guess is very good, but it lasted for a very short time and went back down low. My average upload speed is about the same as the download speed, i.e. around 20 kB/s

I guess what I'm asking is - am I doing anything wrong, or is this a kind of average speed?